Winter Olympics Books for Fans of All Ages

olympiclogo

The 2010 Winter Olympics are currently taking place in Vancouver and will continue until February 28. If you or your kids want to read more about the games, here are a few books you may be interested in:

The Complete Book of the Winter Olympics: 2010 Edition by David Wallechinsky

(Order on Amazon)

The Complete Book of the Winter Olympics 2010

From the publisher:
From speed skating to snowboarding, bobsleigh to ice hockey, this encyclopedia book gives the medals tables, timings, distances, and scores of every event, and provides vital information on rules and scoring systems. But much more than a statistical compendium, the book also offers a wealth of Winter Olympic history, anecdote, and lore, bringing alive the most dramatic moments from the Games and celebrating the many extraordinary individuals who have competed. It covers each event, Games by Games, from the four skating events which first featured in the 1908 London Olympics to freestyle skiing and curling—including discontinued events. With the top eight placings for every event at every Winter Olympics, plus descriptions of rules and scoring for all 2010 events, and hundreds of anecdotes, from the astonishing to the bizarre, this is an indispensable guide for all fans.

The Winter Olympics: An Insider’s Guide to the Legends, Lore and Events of the Games Vancouver Edition by Ron C. Judd

(Order on Amazon)

The Winter Olympics

From the publisher:
Combining the lore and magic of the Winter Games with profiles of the individual sports, author Ron Judd has created the ultimate insider’s guide to complement the Olympic games coming in 2010.
From alpine skiing and figure skating to luge and curling, Judd devotes a chapter to each competitive sport, examining its history, key competitors in past Olympics, the newest athlete contenders, how the sport is played and judged, and more. Anecdotes and fun facts about the Winter Olympics give the reader a true sense of being at the games. And for readers who want to hit the slopes or rinks of British Columbia, Judd includes a round-up on outfitters and access to the Olympic venues. The Winter Olympics also includes a chapter on the Paralympic Winter Games.

The Boys of Winter: The Untold Story of a Coach, a Dream, and the 1980 U.S. Olympic Hockey Team by Wayne Coffey

(Order on Amazon)

The Boys of Winter

From the publisher:
The Story of the Greatest Sports Moment of the Twentieth Century

Once upon a time, they taught us to believe. They were the 1980 U.S. Olympic hockey team, a blue-collar bunch led by an unconventional coach, and they engineered what Sports Illustrated called the greatest sports moment of the twentieth century. Their “Miracle on Ice” has become a national fairy tale, but the real Cinderella story is even more remarkable.

Wayne Coffey casts a fresh eye on this seminal sports event, giving readers an ice-level view of the amateurs who took on a Russian hockey juggernaut at the height of the Cold War. He details the unusual chemistry of the Americans—formulated by their fiercely determined coach, Herb Brooks—and seamlessly weaves portraits of the boys with the fluid action of the game itself. Coffey also traces the paths of the players and coaches since their stunning victory, examining how the Olympic events affected their lives.

Told with warmth and an uncanny eye for detail, The Boys of Winter is an intimate, perceptive portrayal of one Friday night in Lake Placid and the enduring power of the extraordinary.

Boitano’s Edge: Inside The Real World Of Figure Skating by Brian Boitano

(Order on Amazon)

Boitano's Edge: Inside the Real World of Figure Skating

From the publisher:
This large format, full-color photo essay is the ultimate skating book for fans ages 8 and up. In an accessible and conversational tone Brian Boitano reveals what it is like to move up through the sport and compete at an international level. Brian Boitano’s personal stories and anecdotes as well as his lively personal commentary illuminate the sport for young readers and skating fans of all ages. Here’s everything you’ll ever want to know about figure skating — with Brian Boitano serving as the expert host.

 

Figure Skating’s Greatest Stars by Steve Milton

(Order on Amazon)

figureskatingsgreateststars

From the publisher:
Figure Skating’s Greatest Stars profiles 60 great skaters, including champions in men’s, women’s, pairs and ice dancing. Informative essays describe their careers and championship moments, as well as the definitive events that have made figure skating one of the leading spectator sports in North America.

Fans of all ages will delight in reading the stories of these stars who have jumped higher, spun tighter and skated more gracefully as they pushed skating’s artistic and technical boundaries.

Some of the 60 athletes featured are:

Dick Button (late 1940s and early 1950s), United States
Liudmila and Oleg Protopopov (1960s), Soviet Union
Brian Boitano (1980s), United States
Elvis Stojko (1990s), Canada
Oksana Grishuk and Evgeny Platov (1990s), Russia
Jamie Sale and David Pelletier (late 1990s and 2000s), Canada
Brian Joubert (2000s), France
Qing Pang and Jian Tong (2000s), China
Tanith Belbin and Ben Agosto (2000s), United States
Michelle Kwan (2000s), United States.

Curling For Dummies by Bob Weeks

(Order on Amazon)

Curling For Dummies

From the publisher:
With the Winter 2006 Olympics bringing Canada our first gold medal in curling, the sport’s popularity is at an all-time high in this country, and its international presence is growing. In the five years since the publication of the first edition of Curling For Dummies, Canadian attendance at curling tournaments and viewership of televised curling has skyrocketed. Twenty new nations have joined the World Curling Federation.
Curling’s profile isn’t the only thing that’s changed since the first edition was published — so too have the game’s rules, equipment, and technique. Profiles of players, listings of television coverage and events, and memorable curling shots also need to be updated for the second edition. As the most comprehensive and up-to-date book available, Curling For Dummies will remain the ultimate curling book, for fans, players, and coaches.

Frommer’s Vancouver & Whistler Day by Day, U.S.O.C. Edition: 17 Smart Ways to See the Region by Matt Hannafin

(Order on Amazon)

frommersvancouver

From the publisher:
These attractively priced, four-color guides offer dozens of neighborhood and thematic tours, complete with hundreds of photos and bulleted maps that lead the way from sight to sight. Day by Days are the only guides that help travelers organize their time to get the most out of a trip.
Full-color package at an affordable price
Star ratings for all hotels, restaurants, and attractions
Foldout front covers with maps and quick-reference information
Tear-resistant map in a handy, reclosable plastic wallet
Handy pocket-sized trim

Pretty Good for a Girl: The Autobiography of a Snowboarding Pioneer by Tina Basich and Kathleen Gasperini

(Order on Amazon)

Pretty Good for a Girl: The Autobiography of a Snowboarding Pioneer

From the publisher:
When Tina Basich grabbed her rented snowboard and headed to the mountains in Lake Tahoe, snowboarding wasn’t even considered a sport … yet. It was the beginning, and could have easily gone the way of many other sports and become dominated by male-driven competition.

But not with Tina on the scene …

Comments like “You’re pretty good … for a girl” only pushed her harder to be the best and to prove she was more than just a token player on the slopes. Representing for women everywhere, she became a snowboarding all-star, started her own signature board and clothing lines for women, founded Boarding for Breast Cancer, and followed her heart, which led her on the adventure of a lifetime.

This is her story.

Print This Post Print This Post

Please make sure to read our comment policy before posting a comment.