Rick Riordan Launches Percy Jackson Spinoff, The Heroes of Olympus, on October 12

We first told you about Rick Riordan’s plans to write a Percy Jackson spinoff series, The Heroes of Olympus, last June. The first book in the new series, The Lost Hero, will be released on October 12th. As that date quickly approaches, Disney Book Group has released some new information about the series and officially launched www.heroesofolympus.com. The website has the first two chapters of The Lost Hero plus a new book trailer.

Here’s some more information from the press release:
The Lost Hero has a 2.5 million copy first printing and will be available simultaneously in hardcover, audiobook and eBook formats.

The eBook teaser chapters of The Lost Hero has had more than 10,000 downloads to date.

The Heroes of Olympus is a five book series and will have a new book published each year through 2014.

In support of the release of The Lost Hero, Riordan will embark on an 11-city tour launching in Austin, Texas and continues on to Houston, TX; St Louis, MO; Kansas City, MI; Denver, CO; Phoenix, AZ; Salt Lake City, UT; Portland, OR; Los Angeles, CA; San Francisco, CA; and San Antonio, TX.

Riordan also plans to do a live webcast from Camp Half-Blood on October 12th. Called the “largest demigod gathering in history,” the event will take place at 7pm Eastern, 6pm Central, 5pm Mountain, 4pm Pacific on October 12. For more information on the free event, check out www.heroesofolympus.com.

Follow me on Twitter @kristendaemons

Print This Post Print This Post

Please make sure to read our comment policy before posting a comment.