THE SUGAR QUEEN By Sarah Addison Allen [Review]

THE SUGAR QUEEN

The Sugar Queen is the second book written by Sarah Addison Allen, and since I was such a fan of her premiere novel Garden Spells, I had to read her follow up. I’m pleased to report that I was not disappointed!

Continuing in the tradition of Garden Spells, The Sugar Queen offers more magic, romance, and of course descriptions of food that will make your mouth water. The story is heartwarming, the characters are people that I easily related to, and the added “magical” element allows anything (and everything) to happen.

The Sugar Queen follows the story of Josey Cirrini and Chloe Finley, two very different women with two very different lives that fine themselves as friends due to many unlikely circumstances. Watching the growth of these two women as they both develop into themselves was what had me turning the pages as quickly as I could.

Allen has a way of making you invested in her characters, and since I suffer from an overactive imagination as it is, when I can relate to a character as well as I do with Allen’s, I tend to yell things out loud as I’m reading. The Sugar Queen caused me to do this a few times (and scare my cat in the process), but I was always pleasantly surprised with the way the situations resolved themselves.

I’m a big supporter of Allen’s writing style. While it may not be the most sophisticated, and can be predictable at times, her storytelling is like reading a grown up fairy tale, of which I am a HUGE advocate.

The only negative that I can even consider mentioning is this: Allen’s books all follow the same basic formula. If you’ve read one, chances are you can fill in the gaps and figure out the story yourself; but that doesn’t mean it isn’t entertaining to let her create the fantasy though her words.

The Sugar Queen is the perfect book to curl up with on a lazy afternoon. I found myself unable to stop turning the pages, and at one point getting angry that I couldn’t read any faster – I wanted to get to the end of the story as quickly as I could! The last 15 to 20 pages were a blur for me, I flew through them so fast.

If you’re looking for a quick, easy, but heartwarming and entertaining read I highly recommend The Sugar Queen!

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars | Publisher: Bantam Dell | Pages: 276 | Buy on Amazon

Print This Post Print This Post

Please make sure to read our comment policy before posting a comment.