National Book Award Winners 2010

The 2010 National Book Award winners were announced on Wednesday night at the 61st National Book Awards Benefit Dinner and Ceremony in New York City. The prestigious awards are, as NPR puts it, the Oscars of literature. Here are the winners:

Fiction: Lord of Misrule by Jaimy Gordon – This novel takes place over the course of a year at a rundown West Virginia racetrack and follows those involved in horse racing, from jockeys to loan sharks.

Non-fiction: Just Kids by Patti Smith – Smith’s memoir chronicles her relationship with artist Robert Mapplethorpe.

Poetry: Lighthead by Terrance Hayes – A collection of poetry that “investigates how we construct experience.”

Young People’s Literature: Mockingbird by Kathryn Erskine – A story about a ten-year-old girl struggling with Asperger’s syndrome.

What do you think of the winners? Have you read any of the winning books?

Follow me on Twitter @kristendaemons

Print This Post Print This Post

Please make sure to read our comment policy before posting a comment.