American Library Association Announces 2011 Youth Media Award Winners

The American Library Association announced its top books, video and audiobooks for children and young adults yesterday at its Midwinter meeting in San Diego. Here is a list of all the winners.

John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children’s literature
Moon over Manifest by Clare Vanderpool

Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children
A Sick Day for Amos McGee by Philip C. Stead, illustrated by Erin E. Stead

Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults
Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi

Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Award recognizing an African American author of outstanding books for children and young adults
One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia

Coretta Scott King (Illustrator) Book Award recognizing an African American illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults
Dave the Potter: Artist, Poet, Slave illustrated by Bryan Collier and written by Laban Carrick Hill

Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent (Author) Award
Zora and Me by Victoria Bond and T. R. Simon

Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent (Illustrator) Award
Seeds of Change illustrated by Sonia Lynn Sadler, written by Jen Cullerton Johnson

Coretta Scott King – Virginia Hamilton Practitioner Award for Lifetime Achievement
Dr. Henrietta Mays Smith is the winner of the 2011 Coretta Scott King – Virginia Hamilton Practitioner Award for Lifetime achievement. The award pays tribute to the quality and magnitude of beloved children’s author Virginia Hamilton’s contributions through her literature and advocacy for children and youth.

Schneider Family Book Award for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience
Children (ages 0 to 10) award winner: The Pirate of Kindergarten by George Ella Lyon, illustrated by Lynne Avril

Middle School (ages 11-13) award winner: After Ever After by Jordan Sonnenblick

Teen (ages 13-18) award winner: Five Flavors of Dumb by Antony John

Alex Awards for the 10 best adult books that appeal to teen audiences
The Reapers Are the Angels: A Novel by Alden Bell (read our review)
The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake: A Novel by Aimee Bender
The House of Tomorrow by Peter Bognanni
Room: A Novel by Emma Donoghue
The Vanishing of Katharina Linden: A Novel by Helen Grant
The Radleys by Matt Haig (read our review)
The Lock Artist by Steve Hamilton
Girl in Translation by Jean Kwok
Breaking Night: A Memoir of Forgiveness, Survival, and My Journey from Homeless to Harvard by Liz Murray
The Boy Who Couldn’t Sleep and Never Had To by DC Pierson

Andrew Carnegie Medal for excellence in children’s video
Paul R. Gagne and Melissa Reilly Ellard of Weston Woods, producers of “The Curious Garden,” are the Carnegie Medal winners. The video is based on the book of the same name, written and illustrated by Peter Brown, and is narrated by Katherine Kellgren, with music by David Mansfield.

Laura Ingalls Wilder Award honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children. The 2011 winner is Tomie dePaola, author and illustrator of over 200 books, including: “26 Fairmont Avenue” (Putnam, 1999), “The Legend of the Poinsettia” (Putnam, 1994), “Oliver Button Is a Sissy” (Harcourt, 1979) and “Strega Nona” (Prentice-Hall, 1975).

Margaret A. Edwards Award honors an author, as well as a specific body of his or her work, for significant and lasting contribution to young adult literature.
Sir Terry Pratchett is the 2011 Edwards Award winner. His books include: “The amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents,” “The Wee Free Men,” and “A Hat Full of Sky” published by HarperCollins Children’s Books; and “The Color of Magic,” “Guards! Guards!,” “Equal Rites,” “Going Postal,” “Small Gods,” and “Mort” all published by HarperCollins Publishers.

May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Award recognizing an author, critic, librarian, historian or teacher of children’s literature, who then presents a lecture at a winning host site

Peter Sis will deliver the 2012 lecture. Born in Brno, Czechoslovakia, in 1949, Sis attended the Academy of Applied Arts in Prague and the Royal College of Art in London. He has lived in the United States since 1982. Sis was awarded the 2008 Robert F. Sibert Medal and has illustrated three Caldecott Honor books. Sis’ work is admired throughout the world, and in 2003 he was named MacArthur Fellow, an honor bestowed by the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation.

Mildred L. Batchelder Award for an outstanding children’s book translated from a language other than English and subsequently published in the United States

A Time of Miracles is the 2011 Batchelder Award winner. Originally published in French in 2009 as Le Temps des Miracles, the book was written by Anne-Laure Bondoux, translated by Y. Maudet, and published by Delacorte Press, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books, a division of Random House, Inc.

Odyssey Award for best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States

The True Meaning of Smekday, produced by Listening Library, an imprint of Random House Audio Publishing Group, is the 2011 Odyssey Award winner. The book is written by Adam Rex and narrated by Bahni Turpin.

Pura Belpre (Author) Award honoring a Latino writer whose children’s books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience
The Dreamer by Pam Munoz Ryan, illustrated by Peter Sís

Pura Belpre (Illustrator) Award honoring a Latino illustrator whose children’s books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience
Grandma’s Gift illustrated and written by Eric Velasquez

Robert F. Sibert Medal for most distinguished informational book for children
Kakapo Rescue: Saving the World’s Strangest Parrot by Sy Montgomery, photography by Nic Bishop

Stonewall Children’s and Young Adult Literature Award – The award is given annually to English-language children’s and young adult books of exceptional merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgendered experience
Almost Perfect by Brian Katcher

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for the most distinguished beginning reader book
Bink and Gollie by Kate DiCamillo and Alison McGhee and illustrated by Tony Fucile

William C. Morris Award for a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens
The Freak Observer by Blythe Woolston

YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults honors the best nonfiction book published for young adults during a November 1 – October 31 publishing year.
Janis Joplin: Rise Up Singing by Ann Angel

Follow me on Twitter @kristendaemons

Print This Post Print This Post

Please make sure to read our comment policy before posting a comment.